Thread: master cylinder

master cylinder

Ron, the left brake on the pilot side is connected to the left brake on the co-pilot side by a shuttle valve, but not to the right brake on either side. My guess is that you didn't get a good rebuild on your master cylinder or didn't get all the air out. A score in the cylinder, a cut o-ring or a bad o-ring might cause the problem. Some leaking out the top is expected if you fill the cylinder too full (hard not to do!). This assumes that your Sundowner is the same as my Musketeer.
    Willis

----- Original Message ----
    To: musketeermail@yahoogroups.com
    Sent: Thursday, November 9, 2006 9:11:35 PM
    Subject: [musketeermail] master cylinder

I have a 73 Sundowner with master cylinders on both sides. I just
    rebuilt the ones on the left side. They were leaking fluid. I noticed
    it was a bit harder than normal to bleed the fluid. I am having
    trouble with the left one getting soft. I am wondering what the left
    side has to do with the right side. When I try the right side brakes
    it feels good, when I try the left side the left one is soft, but not
    all the time. Anyone that can help with this? Should I rebuild the
    right side master cylinder also?

Thanks for any help in this matter.

Ron

The Sundowners all have remote brake fluid reservoirs, as opposed to integral reservoirs on the master cylinders like the earliest Musketeers. Beech made the switch in mid-year 1967. Some 1967 planes sill have the early style, and some have the later style; all the 1968 and later planes had the later style.

When bleeding the brakes, it needs to be done by pumping fluid into the bleeder valve on the wheel cylinders. It helps to have someone else use their hand to slowly 'jiggle' the rudder pedal a bit during the bleeding, to dislodge air bubbles in the cylinder. They cannot push fast or hard, or the person at the bleeding screw will get an Mil-H-5606 bath.