Muskateer A23 (M555) 165HP

I have an occasional shimmy in the nose gear.(maybe every 15th
    landing) My mechanic says I need a new shimmy dampner at$900.00 and
    some rubber grommet for an addl $900.00. This seems way out of line
    but I am new to Beechcraft. I put several on 172s and Cherokees and
    they cost more like $100. Am I getting my head ripped off or is this
    my welcome to the Beech world? Anybody got a shimmy dampner they want
    to sell? Thanks Wayne Sturman 321 543 9000 Cocoa Florida

Join BAC today and be a part of the ONLY Type Club for the Musketeer series!

www.beechaeroclub.org

Yahoo! Groups Links

<*> To visit your group on the web, go to:
    http://groups.yahoo.com/group/musketeermail/

<*> To unsubscribe from this group, send an email to:
    musketeermail-unsubscribe@yahoogroups.com

<*> Your use of Yahoo! Groups is subject to:
    http://docs.yahoo.com/info/terms/

Muskateer A23 (M555) 165HP

I'd be interested to hear Bob Steward's view on my comments on this subject, as I think he has worked on more of the older airframes.

95% of the time, a new nose wheel shimmy appearance is the result of excessive play in the gear. Wheel bearings loose, steering rod loose, knee bushings loose, pivot bearing loose, centering cable loose, steering cartridge rod loose. The purpose of the damper is to keep shimmy from rapidly worsening once it starts; you don't even need a damper if there is no free play to start a shimmy. The steering rod with its spring cartridge also provides some damping function.