Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: BAC Land on the ICE RUNWAY February 10, 2018

  1. #1
    Orbiting Earth Orbiting Earth corcoran's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Braintree and Cape Cod, Massachusetts,
    Posts
    1,335

    BAC Land on the ICE RUNWAY February 10, 2018

    BAC Northeast Region Fly-in at Alton Bay New Hampshire.
    11am February 10, 2018.
    Land on the ice runway on Lake Winnipesauke (Bravo One Eight).

    Get a free certificate that proves you took part in this unique event.
    Lunch provided by BAC.

    Call the recording at 603 875-3498 for daily information. KLCI is the nearest weather source.

    Put this in your browser:
    http://www.onlyinyourstate.com/new-h...ice-runway-nh/

    FAA WEBINAR
    "Alton Bay Ice Runway Operations 2018 - WEBINAR VERSION"
    Topic: Flight operations at the Alton Bay Ice Runway, located on Lake Winnipesaukee in New Hampshire.
    On Saturday, January 20, 2018 at 10:00 Eastern Standard Time (07:00 PST, 08:00 MST, 09:00 CST, 05:00 HST, 06:00 AKST, 08:00 Arizona, 15:00 GMT)

    faa.gov Select Number:
    EA6180374

    Description:
    Each winter, a unique airport in New England opens for just a short time. It is a great opportunity to try something new and challenging and experience some terrific winter flying. It also requires good Aeronautical Decision Making - Are you ready for both?

    The sponsor for this seminar is: The New England FAASTeam

    The following credit(s) are available for the WINGS/AMT Programs:

    Basic Knowledge 3 - 1 Credit
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by corcoran; 01-08-2018 at 07:07 AM.

  2. #2
    Orbiting Earth Orbiting Earth corcoran's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Braintree and Cape Cod, Massachusetts,
    Posts
    1,335
    Latest word on the ice runway as of Monday January 22, 2018.

    Our fly-in is Saturday February 10th.

    https://www.facebook.com/AltonBaySea...94106490830931

  3. #3
    Wish I was closer would love to participate
    Fred
    Fred (fastfred) Culleton
    N6703P-Sierra C24R
    Flowery Branch, Ga
    KLZU Home Base

  4. #4
    Orbiting Earth Orbiting Earth corcoran's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Braintree and Cape Cod, Massachusetts,
    Posts
    1,335
    Ice Runway is Open

    https://www.facebook.com/AltonBaySea...99667256941521

    Alton Bay Seaplane Base and Ice Runway
    January 29 at 10:52am ·
    Good morning. Alton Bay ice Airport Runway is now Open. Runway 1 /19. Runway is 100’ wide x 2800 ‘ long surface conditions all ice no snow very slick . Runway is marked with yellow cones every 300’ on both sides with triple cones on both ends marking thresholds . Taxi way is on east side of runway marked with orange cones into parking ramp on south end. If you have ice cleats for your shoes I suggest you bring them.

    Paul LaRochelle Airport Manager D O t.
    Last edited by corcoran; 01-31-2018 at 07:30 AM.

  5. #5
    Orbiting Earth Orbiting Earth corcoran's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Braintree and Cape Cod, Massachusetts,
    Posts
    1,335
    Landing on the ice SEMINAR!
    THURSDAY FEBRUARY 1st.
    https://www.facebook.com/events/296158414240800/

  6. #6
    Orbiting Earth Orbiting Earth corcoran's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Braintree and Cape Cod, Massachusetts,
    Posts
    1,335
    New Way To Get BAC Credit For Landing On The Ice Runway...

    Get there when you can. Any time. Any Day.

    Go to the jewelry shop in Alton Bay and Donna Marie will issue you a certificate stating that you landed on the ice. Contact Tom Corcoran (mediareps@aol.com) and get a BAC certificate too.

    Seems that many members have planes out of service and conflicting schedules so the fly-in on February 10 is becoming difficult for a group landing. So, as the ice is open as of this writing (2/5) just fly to B18 and let us know that you were there. There may be a BEECH BUM t-shirt awarded for your effort.

    The official fly-in is Saturday at 11am. If you see another BAC plane go find the pilot and say hello.

    Tom Corcoran (N5162M in annual and overhaul)
    I can not personally be there Saturday but I was able to hitch a ride there on 2/3.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by corcoran; 02-05-2018 at 10:27 AM.

  7. #7
    If the weather holds out (it is starting to look like snow), the family and I will be there on Saturday. Hopefully a handful of other planes can make it!

  8. #8
    Orbiting Earth Orbiting Earth corcoran's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Braintree and Cape Cod, Massachusetts,
    Posts
    1,335
    ICE RUNWAY IFFY TODAY!

    The weather around Alton Bay this morning (Saturday February 10, 201 is reported as marginal at about 1,300' maybe as high as 1,700'.
    KLCI is the closest official weather.

    The terrain pokes into the ceiling in that area making a flight today look like a Red Bull air race. Be careful.

    Remember, get to the ice anytime on any day. You will get credit.

    Tom Corcoran

  9. #9
    I had to share my friends write up on the ice runway, excellent pictures too. Maybe next year I will finally make the flight and cross this off the bucket list.

    https://warrior481.blogspot.com/2018...ay-pilots.html
    Gary Mascelli
    N453TC - 1976 Commander 112A

    Flight Journal
    My YouTube

    "Life isn't about avoiding the bruises... It's about collecting the scars... To prove we showed up for it."

Similar Threads

  1. LAND ON THE ICE RUNWAY in New Hampshire
    By corcoran in forum Fly-Ins
    Replies: 22
    Last Post: 02-21-2017, 01:37 PM
  2. FEBRUARY 27 NEW DATE FOR ICE RUNWAY FLY-In
    By corcoran in forum Fly-Ins
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 02-23-2016, 11:15 AM
  3. Replies: 15
    Last Post: 02-09-2014, 07:20 PM
  4. BAC on NH Ice Runway Jan. 30th
    By corcoran in forum Fly-Ins
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-24-2009, 04:00 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Single Sign On provided by vBSSO